Ballynacargy Harbour on the Royal Canal, Co Westmeath. Heading westwards from Dublin, the canal commenced in 1790 and this section between Mullingar and Ballymahon opened in 1818. It travels 146km from Dublin to the Shannon reaching its summit level near Mullingar and ending on the Shannon at Richmond Harbour. It officially closed in 1961 it was was restored by volunteers from the mid 1970's onwards and reopened in 2010. It now makes a fine greenway through some fascinating but less touristy parts of the country.
Abbeyview House, Abbeyshrule, Co Longford, an elegant early nineteenth century gentleman farmer's house. A classic of the type well proportioned and simply detailed on the exterior. Used for a time as a police Baracks, it has been sympathetically converted in recent years to a fine B&B.
Marks of Time
Sketches of buildings in the North West of Ireland and further afield with a little information about their history.