The Mussenden Temple - an iconic image of the Causeway Costal Route, was begun in 1783 and completed in 1785. The architect was Michael Shanahan for the Earl Bishop. The temple was built as a library for the Bishop where he could read his collection while admiring the ravages of nature outside. Over the years the cliff below has eroded back. Significant stabilising work was carried out by the National Trust about 10 years ago. The building was dedicated to the bishop's cousin Mrs Frideswide Mussenden who at died the age of 22.