The Spanish Arch, Galway City. Originally built as an extension of the city's walls in 1584 to protect the quays- which were the source of a thriving trade with Spain- , in the 18th century the arches were created to allow access to an extension of the quays along the river.
Westport House is one of the finest country houses in the west of Ireland. This elevation dates from 1730 over looking an ornamental lake. It is open to the public.
The Museum of Irish Country Life is housed in a radically modern building located beside the Nineteenth Century residence of the Fitzgerald Family. It is a very beautiful place with sculptures scattered across the park. The museum is worth a visit as well.
Torlough Round Tower, Co Mayo from the carpark of the nearby garden centre. The Round tower probably dates from the 11th century and is much smaller than most, but it is still an important landmark in the area and a reminder of ancient monastic endeavour .
Moyne Friary, Killala Co Mayo, constructed around 1460 for the Franciscans. Located about 3 miles outside the town, it is now an impressive ruin overlooking the bay.
Donegal Castle (1474-1563), principal O'Donnell castle, with remodelling and addition of Jacobean Manor House by Sir Basil Brooke c. 1623. Roof recreated to a high standard by the Office of Public Works in the early 2000’s
Newmills Corn and Flax mill just outside Letterkenny is a beautifully restored mill in a very picturesque location. Typical of many it is modest in size and powered by a large water wheel. The oldest surviving building here is said to be 400 years old.
A detour to see this fantastic castle. Built for the Mac Sweeny's in the Fifteenth Century, it is a typical tower house of the period which unusually retains its surrounding bawn wall. The building is very well preserved being restored in the nineteenth century and again in the mid 2000's (when the tower was lime washed once again and a roof reinstated). It is located in a remote and very picturesque situation. It is a place of great character. It was brought into public ownership in 1932.
Burt Castle overlooking Lough Swilly, is thought to have been built in the sixteenth century. Its design is Scottish. No other pre-Plantation example is recorded in Ulster. The closest equivalent has been identified as Claypotts near Dundee (Rowan, North West Ulster p 440). It is known as a z plan tower because it has round towers attached at two corners to allow flanking fire along the sides. In maps from the early seventeenth century, it is shown enclosed within a moat and bawn wall. Today, these are gone and it stands in splendid isolation as a ruin on top of a small hill,